The Marbled Cake & Danish friends

Sunday morning I was very excited to welcome my tall blond danish hilarious best friend, she was my very first friend when I moved to Paris, in fact she was at my french class and for some reason she was living in Maisons Laffitte like me! Ahh what a coincidence!!

She was way more advanced in French than me, so she helped me.. and everyday after school we shared the train to go back home… We’ve being friends for 3 years now and I’m so blessed to have her in my life. A year ago she moved back to Denmark, and I was so sad but our friendship is very strong, she managed between her 2 jobs + life to come and visit me a few times a year and also to be with me in the most important day of my life:  my wedding!

To honor her visit, I did her favorite cake: Marbled vanilla/chocolate cake with cream cheese frosting ❤ so I’m gonna share this simple and delicious recipe with you.

You will need:

  • 125 g of butter
  • 200g of sugar
  • 3 eggs
  • 7 tbsp of milk
  • 200 g of Flour
  • 1 package  (7g) of yeast
  • vanilla beans or 1 tsp of vanilla
  • 25 g of unsweetened chocolate powder

Preheat the oven in 180° C

In a mixing bowl, work the butter and sugar until well mix and creamy.

Separate the egg yolks from the whites. Add the egg yolks to the butter/sugar mixture, when well incorporated add the milk.

Slowly, incorporate the flour and yeast to the mix and beat until lump free.

Beat the egg whites until stiffed and add it to the batter.

Divide the batter in 2 parts. In the 1st part add the vanilla beans or vanilla flavor and mix . In the 2nd part add the chocolate.

To succeed the marbled effect you must pour small amounts of vanilla batter and after a little of chocolate batter. The key is to alternate both while pouring into the mold.

Put it in the oven for 40 minutes

Click here for my cream cheese recipe.

For the assembly, I cut the cake in half, fill it with cream cheese and decor with colorful puffed rice balls.

Enjoy

Leave a Reply

