5 spices & Honey sliced chicken with Plantain fried chips

Bering away from home is difficult, theres flavors and scents that take us back home in a second, made us relive our childhood and  remind us greatest times… That’s my case.

Paris, is the meca of gastronomy and endless flavors, but I miss being home. Venezuela is synonym of tropic, Caribbeans, beaches and  flavors, oh yes all those exotic fruits (expensive and difficult to find in Europe) mango, carambole, tamarin, passion fruit, papaya and my very favorite bananas..in special Plantain..!!

I don’t know if its called like that in english but in french is Banane Plantain..

During the weekend, walking in the African neighborhood in Paris I saw them… from far, so I wasn’t sure it was plantain.  I run to check, and Voilà I wasn’t wrong, it was real plantain (happy victory dance) , extremely excited  I took 5 meanwhile my head was spinning  remembering all those plantain dishes my mom use to made us. All the sudden I was home!!

This recipe is easy to make and very typical of the Caribbean counties, so I really hope you enjoy this piece of my country and my heart.

You will need:

  • 450g slice chicken
  • 5 spices: ginger, noix muscade, pepper, salt, cinnamon
  • Garlic
  • English or soja sauce
  • 1 onion
  • Half red pepper, half green pepper
  • Honey
  • 1 Plantain

First, in a bowl prepare the marinade combining the spices, 2 tbsp of honey, garlic and some english or soja sauce.

Marinate the sliced chicken for an hour at least before cooking. this will allow the chicken to absorb all the flavors.

Cut the onion and peppers in medium size dices. In a pan, add a little of olive oil and cook the onions and peppers for few minutes. The peppers must be firm but roasted and the onion should be about to caramelize. When its ready remove from the fire.

Slice the plantain to fried them. In another pan, heat a little of vegetable oil. When its hot, add carefully the plantain slices. turn them constantly, just enough to put them out and smash them a little. When you will flatten the plantain disc they will not destroy (I promise) .

After smashing a little the plantain discs,  place them in paper towels to remove the excess of oil. When well dry, sprinkle a little of salt.

Pass the chicken to the grill for few minutes, until cook.

Grab some wooden sticks to prepare the brochettes. Pin peppers, onion and chicken and alternate as desire.

Before serve add a thread of honey and enjoy!

Simple and tasty

Bon appétit

Leave a Reply

