Cheer up! Orange – Strawberries wallnuts Muffin Recipe

Nothing can cheer me up better than warm homemade muffins.

Friday was a really rough day for me, I received some bad news of something I was waiting since longtime ago. One great opportunity just slipped away through my fingers, I felt like something very important was taken from me… honestly a very painful situation, but it doesn’t matter if you fall one or a thousand times, when you really want something with all your heart you must continue fighting until you get it.

That’s my plan, I will procure myself other opportunities, seek other options and try the impossible.I must confess, is not easy at all and Friday I was into tears, about to quit and just go back home empty handed, but it just didn’t felt right, so I put myself together, cried what I had to cry and came back home chin up. Why did I did that? Why don’t just go home and renounce?.. simple answer, because I didn’t flew 10000 km away from home for nothing and I’m not a quitter! I will go all the way, whatever it takes.

I needed something fresh and comforting, so Saturday morning I decided to surf the web looking for a heart warmer recipe and I stumbled upon this cute website , where I came across the perfect soul repairing muffin recipe.

I grabbed my muffin pan, some sugar, flour and let the magic happen! I also changed it a little bit, the cranberries for strawberries and added some wallnuts to give a little crunchy texture, and the result was amazing!

For the Orange – Strawberries wallnuts Muffins you will need:
Make 12 standard muffins

FOR THE MUFFINS
2 cups all-purpose flour
1 teaspoon of  baking powder
1 teaspoon of baking soda
1/2 teaspoon salt
1 large egg
1 cup sugar
1 teaspoon finely grated orange zest (a little more for me)
60 gr of unsalted butter, melted
4 tablespoons of  sour cream
1/2 cup fresh stawberries
1/2 cup of Wallnuts
1 tablespoon of milk

FOR THE GLAZE
3/4 cup sugar
1 teaspoon finely grated orange zest
1/4 orange juice

To make the muffins: Preheat the oven 180° C.

In a medium bowl, combine the flour, baking powder, and salt; set aside.

In a large bowl, whisk the egg until combined. Add the sugar and whisk until the mixture is well combined.
Stir int he orange zest until evenly distributed. Slowly whisk the butter into the mixture until combined. Add half the sour cream, whisking until just combined, repeat with the remaining sour cream.

Add the flour to the sour cream mixture and fold with a spatula until the batter comes together. Add the strawberries and wallnuts, continue folding the mixture until the berries and nuts are evenly distributed (do not overmix).

Add the tablespoon of milk if the batter is too dry.

Pour the batter evenly in the muffin pan, for me was a big full tablespoon for each, about 3/4 of the muffin hole .
Take tit to the oven for 25 minutes, or until a toothpick inserted in the center comes out clean.

To make the glaze:
While the muffins are baking, combine 1/2 cup of the sugar and orange zest in a bowl until the zest is evenly distributed; set aside.

In a small saucepan set over medium heat, combine the remaining sugar (1/4 cup) and the orange juice, bring to a simmer. Stir occasionally to dissolve the sugar and continue simmering until the mixture becomes syrupy.

Generously, brush the tops of the muffins with the orange glaze. Once all of the muffins are glazed, dip the top of each muffin into the orange sugar, being sure to get them covered well.

Serve warm and enjoy every bite of it!

Bon appétit

4 thoughts on “Cheer up! Orange – Strawberries wallnuts Muffin Recipe

Leave a Reply

