The Raspberry Macaron Story and 3 Different Fillings

I know, I know! Macarons are like an addiction, once you have done them, you want to do them all the time. That’s my story, and heck yeah I’m guilty as charged, but you have to understand why before judging me; so here we go.

When I moved to Paris, I was impressed of how beautiful the pastries were, and how sublime was their taste. The only thing I was thinking about is HOW they do those cute little things and how much time they pass to decorate them.  Voilà I was captivated … french pastry: my new love!

When my husband and I got our apartment, we had to buy everything with a small budget, co hard choices were made. We put our priorities first and bought the strictly necessary, like the stove, washing machine, the fridge, the bed, couch a table and  4 chairs, that was it! not budget left. You might be wondering were is the oven? how can I pursue my baking passion without an oven?…. the answer: I couldn’t!

Being a couple and having a new home, was way more expensive than we thought, so a full year passed by and no money for and oven. In december 2011 we finally got married. A small celebration with family and few friends, nice and simple but with tons of LOVE.

My husband grandma’ wanted to surprise me with a thing I really wanted to have, and she offer me my little beloved OVEN! best gift ever, I was sooo thankful and touched by her kind gesture, that I cried and hugged her for an hour. =D She told me that the only way to make my pastry dream come true, was  to start practicing. So she thought the better way was having an oven ❤ She was so right. I’ve been my oven slave for 6 month now and I enjoy every second of it.

Last week I did my first macarons and felted so good when they turned out pretty awesome, so this weekend, by my hubs request I did them again but with 3 different fillings: Pistachio, Raspberry and Lemon curd.

Here is my macaron recipe

Now the fillings.

Raspberry macaron filling ( I did the half)

  • 500g raspberry 
  • 300g caster Sugar
  •  7.5g pectin
  •  25g fresh lemon juice

Preparation : You can prepare the raspberry gélée few days before cooking your maracons.
Mix the raspberries for at least 10 minutes. Combine the sugar with the pectin and then put them with the mixed raspberries in a sauce pan. Bring the mixture to a boil for 4 to 5 minutes. Add the lemon juice and mix again.
Pour the jam in a container, let it cool and then put it in the refrigerator.

Lemon curd macaron filling

  • 2 egg yolks
  • 40 gr of Maizena
  • 25 gr butter
  • 2 lemons
  • 40 gr sugar

Preparation: Remove the zestes from both lemons.
Disolve the maizena in 20 cl of water. Add the butter and bring the mixture to boil. Remove from stove and add the lemon zestes and juice, the egg yolks and the sugar. Whisk until well incorporated. Whisk constantly in medium-low fire, when the mixture start to thicken remove from fire. Let it cool, cover with plastic paper film  and refrigerate.

Pistachio cream macaron filling ( I did the half)

  • 300 gr of  liquid sour cream (crème fraîche in french)
  • 300 gr white chocolate
  • 45 gr pistachio paste
  • 1 or 2 drops of almond extract.

Preparation: Melt the white chocolate in a double boiler. Pour the cream and the pistachio paste in a sauce pan and bring it to boil. Whisk until gel mix and add it in 3 parts to the white chocolate. Mix for 10 minutes. let it cool and refrigerate.

I hope you enjoy this macarons as we did.

Bon appétit,

Sara

 

4 thoughts on “The Raspberry Macaron Story and 3 Different Fillings

  1. Aw lovely story – its not until you are without that you realise how much you have, when you finally get it! Gorgeous macarons – I love making them, it’s been too long 🙂

    • Thank you Jo!
      What she did meant the world to me ❤
      Go and do some macarons [yumm] and enjoy them with a cup of tea!
      If you're coming to Paris anytime soon, we will have some together!

    • Merci Loulou c’est très gentil!
      C’est à peine la 2eme fois que je fais des macarons, mais je suis contente avec le résultat. Je vais en faire plus, c’est tellement addictif!
      J’ai bien aimé ton blog, tu as des recettes délicieuses!
      Bisous

Leave a Reply

