Bresaola and Spinach Eggs en Cocotte!

We all know the difficulties of translating from a language to another. In my particular case I juggle between Spanish (mother tongue), English (2nd tongue) and French (3rd tongue) pfff!

To explain you a little my everyday brain function and understand my casual mistakes, you should know that I think in Spanish, write in English and talk in French. Exhausting right? So how the heck can I translate Oeufs Cocotte?…. I will do my very best so you can understand.

Bea, from La Tartine Gourmande defines the Cocotte in a pretty accurate way, so, “a cocotte is an oval or round casserole with a lid and two hand grips on each side used for stewing or boiling”. Cristal clear right? Now we use ceramic ramekins, small crock pots or even tinny silicon casseroles.

Lets pass to the recipe. I didn’t had much time to make lunch, my husband was leaving to Strasbourg at 3 pm, I was helping him pack when I realize that I haven’t  prepare anything for him. OMG! I ran to the kitchen, checked my fridge and there wasn’t much to cook… I did had some eggs, spinach (he is not a fan), a little of Bresaola and cheese. Voilà that was it.
I went to look online for an easy, fast recipe, and I found it. Eva from ça croustille had the perfect one. I inspired myself from her recipe and changed a few things. Result: Magnifique!

For the Bresaola and Spinach Eggs en Cocotte you will need:
(I did a couple)

  • 2 eggs
  • 4 Spinach leaves cut in medium size pieces
  • 4 Slices of Brésaola (Italian dry meat)
  • 4 tbsp of heavy cream
  • Salt & Pepper
  • 4 tbsp of shredded emmental cheese
  • 1/4 cup of red pepper cut in dice
  • bread sticks

Preheat the oven at 180°C. Butter the ceramic ramekins and sprinkle with salt & pepper, I always do this to avoid a tasteless cocotte buttom.
Cut in 1cm dices the Bresaola slices.
Put to a boil 1 litter of water, while you’re preparing the ramekins.

Add 1 1/2tbsp oh heavy cream in each rameking, cover with some spinach, half of the bresaola, shredded cheese, a little of red pepper. Repeat this procedure twice to have 2 spinach/bresaola layers.
Gently, crack an egg in each ramekin (do your best t not break the egg yolk).
Cover with a litle more of cream, shredded cheese and few pepper dices for decoration.
Season with salt & pepper.

Place the 2 ramekins in a baking pan (those you use o do gratin) filled till the half,with the boiling water. The water must reach half of the ramekins high.
Place the whole in the oven, cook for 12 – 14 minutes.
The egg yolk have to be slightly cooked but still runny.

Serve hot with the bread sticks or toasted bread.

Super easy to make and tasty. My hubby left home happy and well fed.
Hope you all enjoy.
Bon appétit,
Sara
Leave a Reply

