The Best Vanilla Cupcake- Homemade Nutella Heart

For some, rainny days are totally lame and unispiring, for me are a baking opportunity, LOL! You heard right!
Somehow I’ve managed to fight my rainny cuddle time, to a pro-active baker style challenge.

Yesterday, (late) morning I was craving chocolate. I saw a nutella cupcakes recipe, but guess what? I ran out of nutella : Catastrophe! … Mmmm not so much, I really wanted to do a variation of the nutella cupcakes, so I prepared my homemade nutella with some quality chocolate and 100g of hazelnuts I had left from a previous recipe! Bingo

Doing the nutella is king of long, cause you have to roast the hazelnuts, process them, so they can let go their natural oil, then add the chocolate and process the whole until spreadable consistency. Pfff I spent like an hour doing it but is delicious! And the best part of it, is food additives or preservatives FREE!

Next step was the vanilla cupcakes. I’m super picky in cupcakes matter, and I have try Lots of vanilla cupcakes, but honestly none of them was great enough….. til’ a friend of mine gave me the Magnolia’s one. They are just great, light and perfect, so I’m sharing with you this piece of art.

For the Vanilla cupcakes you will need:
Recipe: Magnolia’s Vanilla Cupcakes from 
Food Network
Makes 15 cupcakes

Ingredients:

  • 175 g all-purpose flour
  • 115g  unsalted butter, softened
  • 200g white sugar
  • 2 large eggs, at room temperature
  • 125 mL milk
  • 1/2 teaspoon (5 mL) pure vanilla extract
  • 1/2 teaspoon of Baking Powder
  • 1/2 teaspoon of Baking Soda
  • pinch of salt

reparation
Preheat oven to 180°C. Line 1 standard muffin tins with cupcake liners. Mines are 12 in total.

In a small bowl, combine the flours and set aside.

In a large bowl, on the medium speed of an electric mixer, cream the butter until smooth. Add the sugar gradually and beat until fluffy.

Add the eggs, 1 at a time, beating well after each addition.

Add the dry ingredients in 3 parts, alternating with the milk and vanilla. With each addition, beat until the ingredients are incorporated but do not over beat.

Pour the batter into the cupcake liners. Try to put the same amount of batter in each miner, this will allow you to have a uniform size of cupcakes.

Fill 1/3 of the cupcake, next add 1 teaspoon of homemade nuttella in the very center and the cover with the vanilla batter till 2/3 of the liner.

Bake for about 17 minutes (depending the oven), or until tops turn golden brown.

6. Cool the cupcakes in tins for 15 minutes. Remove from the tins and cool completely on a wire rack before icing.

For the Chocolate light fluffy frosting:
Frost 12 – 17 cupcakes

Ingredients:

  • 225 g of unsalted butter softened.
  • 125g of icing sugar (sucre glace)
  • 1/2 teaspoons (5 ml) pure vanilla extract
  • 150 g quality semisweet chocolate, chopped, melted (double boiler) and cooled.
  • 55 ml of whole milk
  • pinch of salt

Preparation:

In a bowl, on the low speed of an electric mixer cream the butter and add the icing sugar in 3 times. Whisk until well incorporated.

Add vanilla and continue beating until well combined.

Slowly, add the melted chocolate and beat on medium speed until smooth.
Incorporate  the milk and salt, and beat on medium speed for about a minute.

Put the frosting into a pipping bag and frost cooled cupcakes .

This Vanilla – Homemade Nutella Heart  cupcakes received an standing ovation from my family. My husband loved it and considering I’m not a buttercream fan, I ate at least 2!

Hope you like them,

Bon Appétit,

Sara


7 thoughts on “The Best Vanilla Cupcake- Homemade Nutella Heart

    • Thank you sooo much!
      I’m very happy to follow you! great recipes and that Almond crusted Butter cake its tempting me so bad!
      I’m a rookie photographer too, but I’m trying hard to do the best I can 🙂
      Have a lovely day and see you soon!

  1. I tried this recipe but replaced nutella with bar-one spread by Nestle 🙂 Was DELICIOUS 🙂 My dad found it a bit too sweet, but the sweet teeth really enjoyed it 🙂 Thanks!

Leave a Reply

