Father’s Day Olive Oil Macarons

Tomorrow is Father’s Day, so having my daddy very far from me I wasn’t much in the mood of celebrating, but there’s nothing to do about it, just cross fingers to go an visit him very soon.

Since I moved across the Atlantic, to start a new life and create a family with my husband, parents celebration Days are kinda difficult for me, but I can’t complain! My father in law has been like another father to me, he is funny and odd or eccentric I might say.
He has very particular taste in pastry matters, hates cinnamon and peanut butter…. Can you believe it? Well, we are not all the same right?

I wanted to do something special for him, and he loves my macarons, so I did a little enquire and found out his favorite flavor was Olive Oil? Ohhh God that’s sooo him. But what the heck let’s surprise him so olive macarons is it!

I read that  the olive oil macaron of Pierre Hermé is delicious but to be sincere, I wasn’t very sure. Let’s call it a challenge!
Dear readers, believe me when I tell you that “le mariage” olive oil -white chocolate – vanilla is sublime!, so in my humble opinion I’ve chosen these macarons my favorite. Score!!

Please click HERE for my usual macarons recipe.

For the Olive Oil cream you will need:

  • 200 g White coverture or white chocolate
  • 50 g green olives
  • 60 g liquid double cream (fleurette)
  • 100 g Extra Virgin Olive Oil
  • 1 gousse de vanille

In a small casserole, bring the cream and the scrappings (beans) of the vanilla to a boil.

Melt the white chocolate in a double boiler.

Remove the vanilla pod from the cream.

Slowly incorporate the cream to the melted white chocolate mixing with a spatula.

Next, add the olive oil (in a thin thread) until is all well incorporated.
Refrigerate for a few hours or overnight

Pass the olives through fresh cold water and cut them in 4 pieces.

To garnish the macarons, in a halve, pipe a dot of olive oil cream and 2 little pieces of olives and take the other halve and sandwich them.
Place your macarons in an airtight container and leave them in the fridge for 24 to 48 hours! If you resist of course.
Happy Father’s Day!
Enjoy,
Love,
Sara
One thought on “Father’s Day Olive Oil Macarons

  1. Pingback: Tartelette Parfums de Provence | Fooding Rookie

Leave a Reply

