Homemade Pesto Bruschettas with Jambon de Bayonne et Mozzarella

Going early to the Saturday Market its have a larger option in fresh fruits and vegetables. Every time I try to go as early as possible to look around and choose my fresh products.

My mom laugh about me because of that, she says that I’m the Grandma’s fierce rival! How mean!! LOL, but thinking it well, I totally am!

Well, I’ve being kind off sick and wasn’t very motivated to go to the market, my hubs pulled me out of bed, he knew that will make me feel better and of course he wants a good lunch. So few minutes later we were heading to my paradise ‘fresh fruits market”.

Oh! I found the most wonderful variety of tomatoes, melon, strawberries, cheese, beans, Ham and more.. I picked Bayonne Ham, some mozzarella, beautiful cherry tomatoes and fresh basil.
My usual merchant knows me well, and he totally made my day giving me some basil branches with their roots, so I could plant it back home. How great is that?

I decided to go Italian Provençal style and prepare some homemade Pesto and  Bruschettas. Yumm!

For the Pesto you will need:

  • 50 Handpicked Basil Leaves
  • 25 cl of Olive Oil
  • 60 gr of grated Parmesan
  • 70 gr of Pine Nuts (Pignons de Pain)
  • 2 cloves of garlic minced
  • salt

In a food processor, combine the basil in with the pine nuts. Process for 2 minutes.

Add the garlic cloves and start to incorporate the olive oil little by little, in a constant stream while the food processor is on.

Once in a while stop the food processor and scrape down the sides with a rubber spatula.

Add the grated cheese (Parmesan or Reggiano) and pulse again until blended.

Add a pinch of salt to the pesto. I personally likes to season the pesto with a lil of ground black pepper, for me it just taste better. (It’s totally up to you)

Serve your fresh pesto with pasta, or like me spread over the bruschettas.

To prepare the Bruschettas you will need:
(Serves 2)

  • Fresh French Baguette or Italian Bread
  • 4 slice of Jambon de Bayonne or Jambon Serrano
  • Mozzarella
  • Sliced Olives
  • Fresh Pesto
  • Cherry Tomatoes
  • Fresh herbs
  • Olive Oil

Slice the baguette or the Italian bread, diagonal to make thick slices.

Spread one side of each slice with fresh pesto.
In each bread bruschetta, place a slice of jambon de Bayonne or Serrano.

Cut the cherry tomatoes in 4 pieces, the mozzarella in dice and the green olives, place them whole in top of the ham.
Season with a thind thread of olive oil and some fresh herbs.

Preheat the oven at 180°C.
Place the bruschettas on a cooking sheet and bake for 10 minutes or until the bread just begins to turn golden brown.

Serves as an appetizer. Or 3-4 for lunch with red wine.

I was so proud of my pesto and the bus loved it. I hope my basil plants will grow soon 🙂

What I loved the most about this bruschettas is the simplicity of the recipe. You just put the ingredients and they do the whole work. Flavors are just perfect.

Have a lovely day,

Bon appétit,

Sara

3 thoughts on “Homemade Pesto Bruschettas with Jambon de Bayonne et Mozzarella

  1. good choice for an appetizers…quick, easy and delightful…good for chit-chat meetings with friends, or if u want to enjoy some afternoon with your couple too… 😉 well done..

Leave a Reply

