You say Chocolate cake leftovers? I say Cake Pops!

When you are crazy baker like me, living in couple with no pets or kids can be a problem… you might  be wondering why?
Well, I bake at least 3 times a week, so my husband is my only support to eat the cakes.

There’s also friends, his family and some particular orders, but the rest of the time its just us. Don’t get me wrong! I love to bake and eat cakes, but we can’t exaggerate with sugar and I really hate throwing food away. So we’ve being eating cake for breakfast =P

2 Days ago, I made the gorgeous dark chocolate cake with berry buttercream you saw in my previous post, but in order to do 2 equal tires for the cake, I cute the top off each single cake to make them the same (height) size. Result: lots of cake to the trash?  NO NO!

I set my cake tops aside and decided to make some cake pops. The plus is, they’re super easy to make, I’ll show you how.

Turn you cake leftovers into cake crumbs, If you have some frosting left is even better, we will use that too!

For every cup of cake crumbs I put 1 tablespoon of frosting, so this time I combined in a bowl 3 cups of cake crumbs with 3 tbsp of cream cheese frosting I had in the freezer.

Next thing to do, mix the whole until well combined and this will form a sort of very thick dough. Don’t be scared! this is perfect. grab a little of doughs and form medium size balls between your hands.

Line a baking pan with some parchment paper and place your balls. When finish, put the pan in the freezer for 20 minutes, enough to the cake balls get a  hard and them pass them to the fridge for 20 minutes more.

While the cake ball are in the fridge, melt some chocolate or “Candy melts”; I used white chocolate but it wasn’t a very good quality =S.

Prepare the lollipop sticks and sprinkles if you want to use them.

Take off the balls from the fridge, did the tip of the lollipop stick in the candy melt, pinch the cake ball through until you reach the half or so and dip the ball into the candy melt or chocolate.

After dipping, tap gently your wrist to remove the candy excess off the cake pop.
Dip in sugar, coconut, sprinkles, or anything else you’d like for decoration and let them dry.

You see! Its super easy and such a nice treats for the little ones, so remember, every time you have cake leftovers do not trash it! Do Cake Pops!

Enjoy,

Love,
Sara

7 thoughts on “You say Chocolate cake leftovers? I say Cake Pops!

  1. Thank You 🙂 so much, and yes no more leftovers to the trash!
    From now on, you will literally enjoy even the last piece of your favorite cakes!
    Have a lovely weekend 😀

    • Hiii 🙂 Thank you so much!
      In fact, its the very 1st time I do cake pops, so easy and delish. I’m sure you will love them too!
      Cake pops are a great way to use cake leftovers so I’m sure I’ll be doing them often.
      By the way, hope to read soon the Salsa recipe in your blog… I’m a huge salsa fan 😀
      Thanks for stopping By ❤

      • Just finished writing it to full 🙂 Pictures and everything – I just had to get home from work. 🙂 Thanks for the reply! I hope you enjoy the recipe.

    • They are!!! That’s the best part, you will see you’ll be doing it in no time and with clean conscience. No more cake leftovers to the trash.
      Thank you for stopping by 🙂

Leave a Reply

