Coconut Panna Cotta with Raspberry Coulis

I can’t belive I’ve being away from home and Blog for a week now!

I present my apologies to all those loyal readers who were wondering where the heck I was, well here’s the explanaition. Not long ago I received a few calls to do the catering service for a huge party. Honestly, I was very intimidated by the idea but I thought: no pain no gain, so I said Yes!

Took my train to go to Nantes a week before the party and start all the preparations. I was hired to take care of the sweet table, so I was planning to do macarons, muffins, mini tartelettes, cakes, financiers and more. Everything was planned in my head, but as nothing is perfect, the unexpected horror hit me in the back of my head. I had to work in a 10 m2 kitchen with one small oven 30x40cm and one half full fridge =O, meaning no place to stock and bake 1 tray at a time. I thought I was about to die but I handled my surprised and decided to go for it.

6 days of crazy baking waking up at 4 am and going to bed at midnight, bothering few neighbors to stock the 200 mini tartelettes and praying that everything will hold well til the party. Oh God you can’t imagine how much I prayed!

The party was saturday and I’m very proud and glad to inform you that 120 guests were happy and satisfied by my candy bar! Yeahh! I feel so proud cause above all the issues and problems I’ve made it through and all the sleepless nights and stress payed back with the customers smiles and kind words. ❤ =D

Came back home Sunday very late, and to celebrate, I did a coconut panna cotta with raspberry coulis! Divine!

Here’s the recipe by La Tartine Gourmande

For the coconut panna cotta you need:
Makes 8 semi circles.

  • One can (400 ml) unsweetened coconut milk
  • 300 ml of buttermilk
  • 120 g of sugar
  • 4 gelatin sheets

In a bolw filled with cold water soak the gelatin sheets, for around 5 minutes.

Heat the coconut milk in medium heat, do not boil. Add the sugar and stir until disolved. Cook the milk and sugar for 5 minutes and remove from the stove.

Squeeze the excess water from the gelatin sheets and add to the coconut milk. Stir until  dissolved.

Add the buttermilk and mix well. The mixture is liquid so don’t worry.

Pour this cream in  oiled ramekins, or as I did in a silicon molds. I used semi circles cause they are so preatty and classic, but fell free to use whatever you want as a form.

Place the panna cottas in the fridge for at least 4 hours. I put them frist in the freezer so the gelatin works faster and them after an hour pass it to the fridge to let them set.

For the Raspberry Coulis you will need:

  • 200 g of fresh or frozen raspberries
  • 2 tablespoons of sugar
  • 1 teaspoon of lemon juice

Process the raspberries to turn them into purée.

Pass the purée through a sieve to remove the seeds and have a smoth light coulis.

In a small casserole add the purée and sugar and cook in medium low heat til the sugar is disolved. Add the teaspoon of lemon and stir. Cook for 5 min and remove from the heat. Let cool.

Béa’s advice to unmold your panna cotta  more easily, dip the ramekins in hot water first and run a knife around the edge. Then flip onto a plate. Worked perfect for me.

Serve cold with a little of raspberry coulis and maybe a small biscuit.

I hope you have a great day!

Feels good to be back,

Love,

Sara

One thought on “Coconut Panna Cotta with Raspberry Coulis

Leave a Reply

