Italian Biscotti

Hi I’m Sara and I’m doing Diet! =O Horror screammm!!
I’m so bad dieting, I have cravings all the time, there’s just something wrong in my head, as soon as I say the word diet, my body hurts and I need sugar. LOL
You know I’m all about pastry, so how the heck I’m supposed to do the diet? Well, with a lot of courage, water and sleeping I survived the 1st week! Yeahhh, so I needed to indulge myself and my hubs… Flavia, our Lebanese guest mentioned the other day, she loved Biscotti so, I said: Why Not! Biscotti it is!
Honestly, I never thought they where so EASY to make, takes a little time but when ready, these are just incredible.
Looking for the right recipe, I read some online articles about Gina DePalma and her Mosaic Biscotti, even saw a video and she is super funny so it was a “coup de foudre” and I went for her recipe with no hesitation.
I’m really glad I did cause they are so good.
Recipe by: Gina DePalma
Yield : Makes about 4 dozen biscotti
You will need:
  • 3 ½ cups unbleached all purpose flour
  • 1 teaspoon baking powder
  • 1 teaspoon kosher salt
  • 4 large eggs
  • 2 large egg yolks, plus 1 egg white for glaze
  • 2 cups granulated sugar
  • 2 teaspoons pure vanilla extract
  • 8ounces semisweet or bittersweet chocolate, coarsely chopped
  • 2 cups of hazelnuts, coarsely chopped
  • 2 cups whole, unsalted pistachios, coarsely chopped
  • 1/2 cup of cranberries
  • 1/2 cup of walnuts

In a medium bowl, whisk together the flour, baking powder and salt and set aside.

Using an electric mixer fitted with the paddle attachment, beat together the eggs, egg yolks, and 2 cups sugar on medium speed until pale and thick, Beat in the vanilla extract,

In this moment you can separate your dough in 2 parts as I did. In one bowl I added hazelnuts and chocolate chips to the dough, and in another I mixed in the pistachios, cranberries, walnuts and almonds.

You can substitute the nuts as you desire, even add some white chocolate =P, incorporate the nuts until the dough is thoroughly mixed.

Preheat the oven to 165°C . Lightly grease two large baking sheets with parchment.

Using floured hands, divide the dough into 5 equal portions, to do the right size log (mines where way too big and difficult to cut)

On a lightly floured surface, shape each portion of the dough into a log about 1 ½ inches in diameter and 1 inches long.

Place 2 of the logs on one of the baking sheets, 3 inches apart, and 3 of the logs on the second baking sheet, also 3 inches apart.

In a small bowl, beat the egg white with a fork until frothy. With a pastry brush, glaze each log with the beaten egg white.

Bake the logs until they are lightly golden brown, firm to the touch, and just beginning to crack slightly around 25 minutes.

Allow the logs to cool on the baking sheets on a wire rack until they are cool to the touch, about 40 minutes.
Reduce the oven temperature to 135°C.

With a sharp, serrated knife, slice the biscotti slightly on the bias into wide slices. (Mi knife its just So Bad)

Lay the slices on the baking sheets in a single layer. Return them to the oven and cook for 25 minutes more, or until they are toasted, dry, and crisp.

Cool the biscotti completely on the sheets, then store them in an airtight container kept in a cool, dry place for up to 2 weeks.

Enjoy with coffee, tea or even milk.

If you try them please tell me what you think.

By the way, I put way too much chocolate so the cutting process wasn’t very smooth. Next time I’ll put less =(

Advice: If you have an offset serrated knife, you will be in heaven cutting the biscotti slices. Mine is a bad knife so the cuts aren’t too pretty.

My rustic biscotti were great in taste so see you next time ❤

Bon appétit,

Sara

7 thoughts on “Italian Biscotti

  1. Ahh I completely sympathize, dieting is practically impossible when all you want to do is bake and eat yummy pastries and cakes, but good for you, well done for getting through the week! 🙂

  2. Well I “diet” by baking more and sharing them with my friends in an evil bid to get them to gain weight with me 😉 The biscotti looks delicious, love the rustic looks!

    • hahaha Jasline you are mean, but I kinda do the same thing.. hahah we share the love and pounds ❤
      Rustic look wasn't on purpose, but it turned out pretty homemade =D

    • Yes they are, sont un de mes petits péchés mignons!
      Il y a pas du beurre donc moins gras, on culpabilise moins aussi hahaha
      j’aime bien ton blog, plein des petites mignardises. Je veux me lancer a faire le flan de Michalak =D
      Merci pour être passée ❤

Leave a Reply

