French Almond and Pear Tart // Tarte Bourdaloue

Been absent form the virtual world was almost unbearable, but it also allowed me to focus myself in certain aspects of my life that I left behind cause I was distracted.

I went back to sport, We moved to a new apartment, I did all the test to enter in the pastry school and I’m proud to announce you that I Did! Yeiii, so while I was away from the blog, twitter, facebook and others I achieved things that were very important for me.

Tarte Bourdaloue 1   Now is Xmas time, a mixed feeling season for me, happy cause I love Christmas spirit and melancholic cause I’m far away from my whole family, but to be honest baking have always helped me through the sad part of the holidays, that’s why today I’m giving you my very secret and special Almond-Pear French Tart.

For the Sweet Dough you will need:
Yield: For a tart of 22cm or 6 persons

  • 50 g of butter softened
  • 50 g of icing sugar
  • 25 g of egg
  • 125 g of flour
  • a little bit of water

In the bowl of your Kitchen Aid or else, cream the butter and the sugar until pale and smooth. Add in the egg.

In low speed incorporate the flour to the sugar butter mixture. Add a little bit of water until the dough comes together and the ingredients are thoroughly mixed. Do not over beat.

Remove the dough from the bowl, form a disk with it  and wrap in plastic film. Refrigerate for 30 min or more.

Tarte Bourdaloue 2For the Poached Pears you will need:

  • 3 Pears (aprox same size)
  • 100 g of lemon juice
  • 750 g of water
  • 375 g of Granulated sugar
  • The scrapes of 1 vanilla pod

Peel the pears and keep them in water with lemon, juice in order to preserve them from oxidation.

Prepare the syrup with the water, sugar and the vanilla beans. Bring the syrup to a boil and immerse the pears in it.

Keep the syrup simmering with the pears for around 20 minutes. Check the pears cooking point with a knife blade. It must go through the pear easily.

Remove the pears from the syrup. Let them cool and dry a little and then slice them.

For the Almond Cream:

  • 65 g of butter softened
  • 65 g of granulated sugar
  • 65 g of almond flour
  • 1 egg
  • 15 gr of flour
  • 10 gr of rum
  • a little of pure vanilla extract.

In the bowl of an electric mixer, work the sugar and the softened butter. Add in the almond flour.

Add in the egg and combine. Beat the mixture until pale and fluffly. Add in the flour and vanilla extract and at last the rum. Mix until well combine.
Transfer the almond cream to a piping bag set with a 10 round tip and Reserve.

Line the tart ring with the sweet dough and pinch the edges.

Spread out the almond cream. Place the pears over the almond cream forming a star.

Bake at 180°C for around 35 minutes or until the almond cream rises and form a golden brown crust.

Let cool the tart, glaze with golden glaze (or warm apricot marmalade). Sprinkle with icing sugar and sliced almonds.

Tarte Bourdaloue 3This id just a perfect and easy tart for the holidays.

I serve it a lil bit warm cause I find that the rum and almond cream taste better.I always do it this season cause after a huge dinner a light dessert is always required.

Serve with tea and enjoy.

Tarte Bourdaloue 4

Love,

Sara

2 thoughts on “French Almond and Pear Tart // Tarte Bourdaloue

Leave a Reply

